State Review Board

The Guam Historic Preservation Review Board is comprised of ten members (five principals and five alternates) in the discipline of History, Archaeology, Architecture, Traditional Chamorro Society and Culture and Community Planning (Title 21 GCA Sec. 76507 and GHPRB By-Laws).

The members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Guam Legislature. The members are:

  • Michael B. Maklo, AIA, Chairman, Principal – Architecture
  • VACANT, Alternate – Architecture
  • Pa’le Eic Forbes, Principal – History
  • Vince Leon Guerrero, Alternate – History
  • David Atienza,, Principal – Archaeology
  • VACANT, Alternate – Archaeology
  • David Lotz, Principal – Planning
  • Zina Ruiz- CHamoru Culture (Alternate)
  • Edwin Reyes- Planning (Alternate)

> By-law


Message from the Chairman:

As Guam continues into the 21st century, and as local traditions evolve and adpat to globalization and the era of technology, Preservation of Historic Resources becomes crucial to developing a well balanced society that is in touch with it’s building and cultural traditions.

Preserving our heritage helps developing generations attain a healthy self-image and identity that defines and distnguishes them from the rest of the world. Celebrating that identity, what makes us different and special, guides the decisions that we make as a community about our future and adds rechness to our participation in the global community.


Message from the Vice-Chairman:

Cultural resources are the visible signs of a culture and for Guam, it is the Chamorro Culture. People’s identities are enhanced by the ways that goverment, community, church and others celebrate culture(s). People with a strong self-identity are more likely to embrace diversity. Preserving cultural resources has a long-term impact on increased understading and tolerance of others. Adahi I kosas Chamorro!