About Us

The Guam State Historic Preservation Office, also known as the State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO), is located at 940 Chalan Palasyo, Agana Heights, 96910, across from the U.S. Naval Regional Hospital.

Our hours of operation are 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except on holidays.

Contact us at 671-475-6295/4; Fax: 671-477-2822; or by email to any one of the staff below:

Patrick Q. Lujan
Guam State Historic Preservation Officer,
Division Supervisor

patrick.lujan@dpr.guam.gov

Renee J. Camacho-Taitague
Program Coordinator III
renee.taitague@dpr.guam.gov

Michelle S. Yamasta
Program Coordinator II
michelle.yamasta@dpr.guam.gov

Russell Kanal
Historic Preservation Specialist II
russell.kanal@dpr.guam.gov

John Mark Joseph
State Archaeologist
johnmark.joseph@dpr.guam.gov

Jose U. Garrido
Historic Preservation Specialist II
jose.garrido@dpr.guam.gov

Bradley Halbert
Historic Preservation Specialist I
bradley.halbert@dpr.guam.gov

Ian Catling
Historic Preservation Specialist I
Ian.catling@dpr.guam.gov

Alfred S. Masga
Archaeological Technician II
alfred.masga@dpr.guam.gov

Comprehensive Statewide Historic Preservation Plan (State Plan 2016-2020)

To join the National program, and to continue receiving Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) Grants, Guam must update its NPS-approved State Plan every 5 years. The current plan will be updated in 2020. (Due to COVID-19, a request for extension was approved to be submitted in 2021.)

Historic Preservation Fund Grants (HPF)

By submission and approval of fiscal year HPF grant applications, the Division receives HPF grants from the National Park Service, U.S. Department of Interior, to implement planned goals. HPF Grant amounts are based on appointments determined by the U.S. Congress. Grants are obligated to the 50 States, Territories, Commonwealths and Freely Associated States.

Guam received HPF Grants in the following amounts for fiscal years:

  • 2000: $ 225,970
  • 2001: $ 405,968
  • 2002: $ 338,033
  • 2003: $ 383,375
  • 2004: $ 384,922
  • 2005: $ 386,746
  • 2006: $ 387,170
  • 2007: $ 390,109
  • 2008: $ 394,337
  • 2009: $ 400,457
  • 2010: $ 408,291
  • 2011: $ 408,109
  • 2012: $ 409,123
  • 2013: $ 404,333
  • 2014: $ 409,123
  • 2015: $ 409,123
  • 2016: $ 409,123
  • 2017: $ 411,083
  • 2018: $ 413,040
  • 2019: $ 414,509

Program Areas

1. Administration

  • Guam State Historic Preservation Officer (SHPO)
  • Program Coordinator III
  • Program Coordinator II

2. Preservation Planning

  • Guam SHPO

3. Survey and Inventory

  • State Archaeologist, Program Area Supervisor
  • Historic Preservation Specialist II (HPS II)
  • Historic Preservation Specialist I (HPS I)
  • Archaeological Technician II

4. Review and Compliance

  • State Archaeologist, Program Area Supervisor
  • Historic Preservation Specialist II (HSP II)
  • Historic Preservation Specialist I (HSP I)
  • Archaeological Technician II

5. State and National Registers

  • Guam SHPO
  • Program Coordinator III
  • Program Coordinator II